I baked bread!…in a Dutch Oven!

As I alluded to in my post about my juice cleanse, all I could think about last week was FOOD! What would I make when I got off the cleanse? What would I EAT?!?! I knew I’d have to take it easy once I got off the cleanse so I wouldn’t freak out/harm my system (spoiler alert: failed), but I couldn’t resist planning a massive day of baking for the day after the cleanse. I was going to have a bake off between two of my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipes: Tate’s and A Silver Palate’s, I was going to also make some oatmeal raisin chocolate chip cookies, and I was going to bake some bread!


Not the most flattering picture, but it's a picture none-the-less of my loaf of bread! It's much bigger in person than the picture reflects...


Inspired by a picture I saw on Posie Gets Cozy, I read in a little closer to realize that the bread she featured was the majestical no-knead bread that the New York Times featured forever ago! Alicia linked to a recipe on Mother Earth News, and that’s what I followed to a T to create this crusty, rustic loaf. I made the ‘base’ for the bread on Wednesday evening around 6:30pm, and didn’t start ‘working on it’ until 9:45am the next morning – allowing approximately 15 hours of resting time. This was unlike any other bread I’d made before – the dough was really shapeless, stretchy, and I was concerned I did something wrong. Luckily, I saw the Mark Bittman video that inspired the article on Mother Earth News, so I was prepared for this.

You guys – the bread is SO easy to make! It’s almost embarrassing. You need to stop what you’re doing and start making it tonight. I was so proud of myself when I pulled the bread out of the oven later that afternoon. Everyone was impressed with how ‘professional’ it looked; rustic, charming, perfectly browned crust. It also tastes divine, which is perhaps the most important thing (I’ve been eating it at room temp with salted butter, but I think for tomorrow I’ll toast up a slice and spread on some nutella and bananas :) ).

The one thing I’ll try next time is doubling the amount of yeast from 1/4 teaspoon to 1/2 teaspoon. My dough didn’t rise as much as I wanted/expected during second (two-hour) rising period, so I’m going to see if perhaps that’ll make a difference for next time.

What are you waiting for? It takes 5 minutes to start this bread – by tomorrow night you could have freshly baked, better-than-bakery bread! DO IT! Let me know how it turns out!

What’s your favorite kind of bread? Have you ever made a loaf at home before?

Share your thoughts

